Kentucky Governor: FEMA Assistance for 22 Counties

Kentucky Governor: FEMA Assistance for 22 Counties

Gov. Beshear: FEMA Approves Additional Assistance for 22 More Counties Affected by Historic Flooding

Frankfort, KY (STL.News) Gov. Andy Beshear announced Friday that the Federal Emergency Management Agency has approved his request for individual assistance for 22 more Kentucky counties following severe flooding Feb. 27 to March 14, 2021.

“There will now be more resources available for Kentuckians and Kentucky communities to rebuild after the historic flooding,” Gov. Beshear said of FEMA’s Thursday evening approval.  “We acted quickly to request federal assistance and appreciate FEMA quickly approving our request as our fellow Kentuckians continue to recover from the severe storms.”

The additional counties now eligible for individual assistance are Anderson, Fayette, Jessamine, Laurel, Madison, Warren and Woodford. The following counties, which were previously eligible for public assistance, are now eligible for individual assistance including:  Boyd, Clark, Franklin, Greenup, Jackson, Knott, Lawrence, Leslie, Letcher, Lincoln, Morgan, Owsley, Perry, Pulaski and Rockcastle.

The counties are in addition to those included when President Joe Biden declared a major disaster declaration on April 23 at Gov. Beshear’s request to make federal funding available for Kentucky families and communities to recover.

“Thanks to FEMA for the approval of our add-on counties. 

This News Kentucky Governor: FEMA Assistance for 22 Counties appeared first on STL.News.

Author: Maryam Shah